Voto Latino

In early June I began my second internship of the summer at Voto Latino. VL is a non-partisan non-profit that engages Latinos and empowers them to GOTV. This mission is really close to my heart as a Latina that recognizes the importance of educating and engaging my community so they can advocate for themselves.My position is the Operations Intern. In this support role I am learning about the behind the scenes functions of a non-profit. I have really enjoyed the friendly atmosphere and being among other Latinos here in DC. What other office has not one but two pinatas in the office? The dialogues I have had with the other interns, almost entirely Latina women like me, have been fascinating and invaluable. It is wonderful to speak with young Latina women from other states and universities and discuss the commonalities we share as well as the differences. Engaging our community is something we all are passionate about. This internship has given me so much hope for our future and I am proud to be part of VL’s mission this summer.

-Sophia Rossell

Leave a Reply

