My Post-RNC Identity Crisis

Donald Trump’s dispute with Pope Francis back in February 2016 shows what kind of character the Republican Party’s nominee exhibits. Pope Francis made a comment in regards to Donald Trump’s divisive rhetoric around immigration and the importance of building bridges, NOT walls. Fast forward five months and we are already finished with the RNC in Cleveland. The RNC was full of hate, anger, and negativity. Time and time again, Trump’s campaign manages to say the wrong thing.

As a Christian woman in the 21st century, I find myself struggling as a member of the Grand Old Party frequently. My fellow peers in the Wake the Vote cohort, as well as my friends from Wake Forest University and I always talk about intersectionality and identity as it relates school, work, and basically every aspect of life. Growing up in a moderate-leaning-conservative household, Wake the Vote has opened my eyes a great deal to the Democratic Party and liberal ideology. However, at the same time, scandals such as Hillary Clinton’s FBI investigation and the recent discovery that the Democratic National Committee favored Clinton over Sanders in the primary season are discouraging and undermine everything I have learned about democracy and civic engagement as a political science student and politics junkie.

It seems to me that the Trump campaign, along with the Clinton campaign for that matter, have both chosen to full-on brutally attack one another. As Christians, we are told to love our neighbors and taught to help out the neglected people in our society. Lately, I find myself stuck in the middle between the Democrats and Republicans. It’s a true identity crisis situation. Surely I would lean more red if the Republican nominee was anyone else. However, as I learn that the Republican party seems to focus on freedom, in contrast to the Democrats focus on equality, I find myself agreeing with the liberal side of politics. Hopefully the Republican party can get past its outdated views on issues such as LGBTQ rights and voting rights. Only then will I be able to get on board with the fiscally conservative part of their platform as well.

-DMF

IMG_2562

Leave a Reply

