Reflections in The District

Screen Shot 2016-07-26 at 9.05.05 PM.png

After the RNC, my cohort and I traveled to Washington D.C. to spend a few days in the capital before the Democratic National Convention in Philadelphia.  On our first night, we took an evening tour of the national monuments.  Though I’ve been to D.C. several times previously, as I stood in front of the Lincoln Memorial last Friday evening, I couldn’t help but reflect on how disappointed President Lincoln would be if he were aware of Donald Trump’s candidacy.  Having gone to extreme lengths to unify our great nation, Abraham Lincoln’s steps towards a more perfect union are being erased by Donald Trump’s divisive rhetoric and policy goals (or lack thereof).

That sentiment persisted as I continued to walk through the national mall.  Gazing upon the monuments dedicated to great men and even greater causes, I couldn’t help but fear the construction of a Trump Monument, erected some 50 years after his presidency, plated in gold, a smug etched permanently on his face. 

It’s a terrifying sight.  I hope every day that it’s one that I never have to witness, something I never have to explain to my grandchildren who will wonder how such an indignant man came to the spotlight in American politics.

Leave a Reply

