A Low Moment

By Thornton Blount (7/28/16)

On Monday night of the DNC, I conceded the election to Donald Trump. I, the diehard Hillary fan, had decided that we were going to indeed lose the presidential election in November.

This overwhelming revelation came quickly after my arrival in Philadelphia for the convention. A CNN poll had come out that day showing Trump leading Clinton for the first time in the entire election. “Donald Trump comes out of his convention ahead of Hillary Clinton in the race for the White House, topping her 44% to 39% in a four-way matchup including Gary Johnson (9%) and Jill Stein (3%) and by three points in a two-way head-to-head, 48% to 45%.” I shrugged it off. As a personal policy of mine, I do not pay attention to polls this far out from Election Day (or ever really), let alone immediately following the Republican convention, when, historically, a spike can always be expected.

But then I began walking around the city. The only people I saw were Bernie Sanders protestors, or were at least wearing Bernie merchandise to demonstrate their oppositional support. I saw no Hillary supporters anywhere (see my previous article about how I witnessed the same phenomenon in Clevleand where there were no Trump supporters). I tried to shrug this off, but I’d be lying if I didn’t admit that I was confused and angry with these people. ‘How could they do this to the party? Look at the other option!‘ I thought to myself.

Eeyore

After calming down at the moving Truth to Power: Rock the Vote event, which we are proud to have cosponsored, I made my way down to the Wells Fargo Center to go inside the convention. This was another disheartening experience. Throughout the first night (and the next two) the ‘Bernie or Bust’ supporters would refuse to go unheard. They protested from an isolated seating section to the left of the stage from start to finish, even through the speech of the First Lady, demonstrating total disregard for the respect and civility typically observed during an executive address. This showed me just how legitimately committed these delegates were to their candidate and his causes, even after he endorsed Mrs. Clinton himself.

The next day my spirits had recovered a bit after returning to my eagle-eye perspective of the election as a whole. The DNC might have been traumatic for party unity, but Hillary will be fine and we will win this election. I hate to see the party this way but a win is a win – especially against our opponent this go around.

Leave a Reply

