Identity Crisis? (Part IV)

Screen Shot 2016-08-30 at 2.46.35 PM.png

Working for Congressman Black was an incredible yet frustrating experience.  Unlike my time with Senator Perdue, working for the fifth most conservative member of Congress left little room for consideration about my openness to certain ideologies.  The office took pleasure in demonizing the Democratic Party (not to say that a group of Democrats would remain stoic when discussing the GOP―we wouldn’t) and anything that even remotely resembled a shred of liberalism.  When someone asked where the recycling bin was, someone snickered, “We don’t have one―what’s next, are you going to go vote for Bernie Sanders?”  

I ended up leaving the campaign the next week.  My thought experiment had produced enough results.  I became more entrenched in my own views than I ever had been before, but I gained an understanding for why the opposite party holds the beliefs that they do.

Nick Boney

Leave a comment